South African rand conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

South African rand

Worldwide use:

  • South Africa
  • Lesotho
  • Namibia
  • Swaziland
  • Zimbabwe (Unofficial user)


The Rand is the official currency of the Republic of South Africa. It gets its name from the word "Witwatersrand" or Ridge of White Waters, upon which ridge, Johannesburg is built. The coinage can be found in denominations of 10c, 20c, 50c and Rand coins of R1, R2, R5. The banknotes are issued in bills of R10, R20, R50, R100 and R200.

In 2011, the South African Reserve Bank destroyed millions of Rands worth of banknotes due to a fault with the printing. 4 million 100 Rand banknotes were also shredded due to problems with serial numbers, size and color. 


Decimal coinage was introduced to replace the old pounds, shillings and pence when South Africa officially became the Republic of South Africa. When first introduced, the new banknotes bore similar designs and colors to the previous currency in order to ease the transition. The first notes show the image of Jan Van Riebeeck, the first Dutch East India Company Administrator of Cape Town in 1652.

Component units:

  • cents (100)

Date introduced:

  • 1961

Central bank:

  • South African Reserve Bank


  • African banknote Company and Crane Currency