Rwandan franc conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Rwandan franc


  • franc

Worldwide use:

  • Rwanda


The Rwandan Franc became the currency of Rwanda in 1916. A new series of Franc coins were issued in 2004 and can be found in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 as well as a new bimetallic 100 Franc coin. Banknotes are available in 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Franc notes.

Rwanda is expected the adopt the New East African Shilling by 2015. 


The Belgian Congo Franc first came into circulation in 1916 after Belgium occupied the previously German colony and replaced the German East African Rupie. It was used until 1960 when the Rwanda and Barundi Franc replaced it. Rwanda then issued its own Francs from 1964.

Component units:

  • centimes (100)

Date introduced:

  • 1964

Central bank:

  • National Bank of Rwanda