Russian ruble conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Russian ruble


  • Ruble
  • Rouble

Worldwide use:

  • Russia
  • Abkhazia
  • South Ossetia


The Russian Ruble is subdivided into 100 Kopeks. Coins are available in values of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Kopeks. Banknotes come in 5, 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000 and 5000 Rubles. The symbol for the Ruble was decided by a competition and approved by the Central Bank of Russia on 11th December 2013.

The word 'Ruble' is derived from the word 'Rubit' which means 'to chop.'


The Ruble has been the Russian unit of currency for approximately 500 years. With the founding of the Soviet Union in 1919 the Russian Ruble was replaced with the Soviet Ruble.

Component units:

  • Kopeks (100)

Date introduced:

  • Redenominated 1998

Central bank:

  • Central Bank of Russia


  • State owned factory Goznak, Moscow


  • Saint Petersburg Mint, Moscow