Papua New Guinean kina conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Papua New Guinean kina


  • Kina

Worldwide use:

  • Papua New Guinea


The official currency of Papua New Guinea is the Kina. The word Kina derives from the name of a pearl shell which was widely traded all over Papua New Guinea. The Kina is divided into 100 Toea. The Coins are denominated in 5, 10, 20, 50 Toea and 1 Kina. Banknotes can be found in denominations of 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Kina.

The 1 Papua New Guinean Kina coin is round with a hole in the center. 1 and 2 Toea coins are no longer in circulation.


In 1885 Papua New Guinea was divided between the UK in the south and Germany in the north. The UK transferred its area to Australia in 1902. During WW1 Australia occupied the north as well, until independence in 1975.

Component units:

  • toea (100)

Date introduced:

  • 1975

Central bank:

  • Bank of Papua New Guinea


  • De La Rue