Mauritanian ouguiya conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Mauritanian ouguiya


  • ougiya

Worldwide use:

  • Mauritania
  • Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic


The Mauritanian Ouguiya is the official currency of Mauritania. It is one of only two currencies in the world that isn’t decimalised with each Mauritanian Ouguiya being worth five Khoums. Coins are issued in 5, 10, 20 and 50 Mauritanian Ouguiya as well as 1 Khoums and 1 Ouguiya, but these two coins are not often used. Banknotes come in denominations of 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Mauritanian Ouguiya.

The Mauritanian Ouguiya can only be obtained within Mauritania and can’t be exported.


Before the 1970’s, the French Colonies of Africa (CFA) Franc was used in Mauritania, but in 1973 the Mauritanian Ouguiya was established at a rate of five Francs to one Mauritanian Ouguiya. Both coins and banknotes were distributed and the newest coins date back to 2004.

Component units:

  • khoums (3)

Date introduced:

  • 1973

Central bank:

  • Banque Centrale de Mauritanie


  • Giesecke & Devrient


  • Kremnica, Slovakia