Indonesian rupiah conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Indonesian rupiah

Worldwide use:

  • Indonesia


The Rupiah was introduced to Indonesia in 1965 to replace the old Rupiah which had replaced the colonial Dutch East Indies guilder in 1949. The coins are available in denominations of 25, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 Rupiah. The banknotes come in denominations of 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000, 20000, 50000 and 100000 Rupiah.

The Rupiah or Rupee is an ancient currency used in Indonesia and many of its surrounding countries. Loosely translated, Rupiah means "silver coin" or "made of silver."


Prior to World War II Indonesia was a Dutch colony called The East Indies. The Dutch Guilder was the official currency but Spanish dollars were also in circulation as trade currency. In 1949 Indonesia achieved independence and introduced the Rupiah. The new Rupiah was introduced in 1965.

Component units:

  • sen (100)

Date introduced:

  • 1965

Central bank:

  • Bank Indonesia


  • Perum Peruri


  • Perum Peruri